Additives which are ALWAYS of animal origin, such as (HARAAM):
* E120 Cochineal : a red colour obtained from female insects
* E441 Gelatine : derived from the bones and/ or hides of cattle and/ or pigs
* E542 Edible Bone Phosphate : an extract from animal bones
* E904 Shellac : a resin from the lac insect
Whilst some additives with a common code such as E47, can be either of animal or plant origin and this latter type needs to be investigated on a case-by-case basis per product/ manufacturer.
The main additives you need to be aware of are:
* Glycerol / Glycerin / Glycerine (E422) - haraam if obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources.
* Emulsifiers (E470 to E483) - haraam if obtained from pork or non-halal sources.
* Edible Bone Phosphate (E542) - haraam if obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources.